Surely not I, we all share the same “bottom”

As I read through the account leading up to the crucifixion of Christ, I’ve often asked myself how could Judas, one of Christs disciples, betray Him? I’ve always thought that he was just the “unlucky one” because someone had to be “the guy” in order for the plan of salvation to advance. But in reality, thinking through the failures in my own life, couldn’t it have been anyone of them?

After reading through Matthew 26 I reinforced my assumption with a commentary by Alexander McCaren. I’m continually challenged to keep my heart close to the heart of Christ, for every man has the same “bottom” from which Judas drew.

“Remember, to begin with, that all sins are at bottom but varying forms of one root. All sin is one at bottom, and this is the definition of it—living to myself instead of living to God. The essence of every evil is selfishness, sin is but yielding to tendencies common to us all.

So the lesson is, ‘Be not high-minded, but fear.’ Do not say, ‘I know when to stop.’ Do not say, ‘I can go so far; it will not do me any harm.’ Many a man has said that, and many a man has been ruined by it. Do not say, ‘It is natural to me to have these inclinations and tastes, and there can be no harm in yielding to them.’ It is perfectly natural for a man to stoop down over the edge of a precipice to gather the flowers that are growing in some cranny in the cliff; and it is as natural for him to topple over, and be smashed at the bottom. God gave you your dispositions and your whole nature ‘under lock and key,’—keep them so. And when you hear of, or see, great criminals and great crimes, say to yourself, as the good old Puritan divine said, looking at a man going to the scaffold, ‘But for the grace of God there go I!’ And in the contemplation of sins and apostasies, let us each look humbly at our own weakness, and pray Him to keep us from our brother’s evils which may easily become ours.

For then, as ever, the heart which is not melted by Christ’s offered love is hardened by it”. So be encouraged to keep our minds on the thoughts of Christ having our hearts in-line with His. Dwell upon the gracious gift of Gods redemptive love through Christs burial and resurrection. Keeping our hearts from the “bottom” and living in the hope and freedom of Christ Jesus.

Leave a comment